The Council of University Chairs of Obstetrics and Gynecology was established for the charitable and educational purposes of promoting excellence in medical education in the fields of Obstetrics and Gynecology. Today, the organization promotes and supports leadership development of current and future chairs, and encourages excellence in medical student, resident, and fellowship training; clinical practice; research and advocacy in women’s health. CUCOG provides a forum for chairpersons to address issues relevant to academic obstetrics and gynecology, and provides opportunities to share ideas and network with colleagues.

Don't forget to pay your department membership dues!

CUCOG Statement on Recent Abortion Restrictions

The Executive Committee of the Council of University Chairs of Obstetrics and Gynecology (CUCOG) met in response to the recent actions by several state legislatures to limit and ban abortion access. We fully support the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists’ (ACOG) Statement opposing political efforts to regulate women’s health care, including limiting access to safe abortion. As Chairs of Academic Obstetrics and Gynecology Departments throughout the country, we oppose criminalization of medical procedures and political interference in reproductive health care. We are deeply concerned about the adverse impact of these actions on the training of our students, residents, and fellows, and above all, on the health and safety of the patients for whom we care.

  • David Chelmow, MD, President
  • Daniel Clarke-Pearson, MD, Immediate Past President
  • Errol R. Norwitz, MD, PhD, MBA, President Elect
  • Eve Espey, MD, MPH, Secretary-Treasurer
  • Maureen Phipps, MD, Member at Large